Important notice!
As StackExchange is discontinuing this service, we are currently moving this site.

You can find our new community support portal at GetSatisfaction. If you are already a user of Facebook you can also visit our Facebook support page.

We apologize for the inconvenience.
Wichtige Mitteilung!
Da StackExchange diesen Dienst abgekündigt hat, ziehen wir diese Seite derzeit um.

Sie können unser neues Community Support Portal unter GetSatisfaction finden. Wenn Sie bereits Facebook Benutzer sind, können Sie auch direkt über unsere Facebook Support Seite besuchen.

Wir entschuldigen uns für die Unannehmlichkeiten.
0

While running an archive of Outlook 2007 for the first time using Mailstore Home, the Mailstore program repeatedly tried to access the internet at IP address 208.68.139.89. Why is Mailstore trying to access the internet?

Thanks.

flag

3 Answers

0

Hmmm..thats strange. The IP is not related to MailStore in any way. But it seems to be related to Microsoft:

% whois  208.68.139.89

OrgName:    FAST Search & Transfer Inc 
OrgID:      FST-20
Address:    117 Kendrick Street
City:       Needham
StateProv:  MA
PostalCode: 02494
Country:    US

NetRange:   208.68.136.0 - 208.68.143.255 
CIDR:       208.68.136.0/21 
OriginAS:   AS40066
NetName:    FAST-HOSTED-SERVICES
NetHandle:  NET-208-68-136-0-1
Parent:     NET-208-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Assignment
NameServer: DNSBOSEXT.FASTSEARCH.NET
NameServer: DNSDENEXT.FASTSEARCH.NET
Comment:    
RegDate:    2006-06-28
Updated:    2008-04-11

RTechHandle: JHH10-ARIN
RTechName:   Hutchinson, James Henry
RTechPhone:  +1-781-433-8999
RTechEmail:  james.hutchinson@microsoft.com 

OrgTechHandle: JHH10-ARIN
OrgTechName:   Hutchinson, James Henry
OrgTechPhone:  +1-781-433-8999
OrgTechEmail:  james.hutchinson@microsoft.com
link|flag
0

I'm having an issue with this IP as well.

Somewhere on my computer, something is trying to contact 208.68.139.89 desperately. I'm running blocking software that is keeping it from contacting out, but I can't find the source.

The damn thing is determined. It's scanning through ports trying to contact that IP at several different ports. It seems contained, but I want whatever is doing that dead. Without letting it establish a connection, I can't find it in the processes list, and with something that screams "keylogging spyware crap" as loud as this thing does, I'm not interested in letting it have it's way.

link|flag
0

Last night, my Dell Webcam software (process name webcamdell2.exe) desperately wanted to connect to that IP address as well...

link|flag

Your Answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.